Members of the Board


Members and alternate members of the Green Climate Fund Board#


Nominations for Board members and alternate members were received through communications sent on behalf of the respective constituency or regional group within a constituency.


Alternate members

Constituency/Regional Group

Mr. Christian N. Adovelande (Benin)
President, West African Development Bank
Mr. Tosi Mpanu Mpanu
Republic of the Congo)
Former Chair of the African Group of climate negotiators
Developing countries,

Mr. Omar El-Arini (Egypt)
Member of Board, Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency, International consultant on ozone layer and climate issues
Mr. Newai Gebre-ab (Ethiopia)
Member of the former Transitional Committee for the design of the Green Climate Fund
Mr. Zaheer Fakir (South Africa)
Head, International Relations and Governance, Department of Environmental Affairs
Mr. Paulo Gomes (Guinea Bissau)
Member of the Board of Directors, Ecobank Transnational Inc., Vice-Chairman of the finance committee

Mr. Ziqian Liang  (China)

Deputy Director General, International Department, Ministry of Finance

Mr. Kwang-Yeol Yoo (Republic of Korea)

Director General for International Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Strategy and Finance

Developing countries,

Mr. Ayman M. Shasly (Saudi Arabia)*
International Policies Consultant, Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources

Mr. Farrukh Iqbal Khan (Pakistan)*

Counsellor, Permament Mission of Pakistan to the United Nations

Mr. Jose Ma. Clemente Sarte Salceda (Philippines)*
Governor, Province of Albay

Mr. Shri Dipak Dasgupta (India)*
Principal Economic Adviser, Ministry of Finance

Mr. Pedro Garcia Brito 
(Dominican Republic)*
Climate Change Director, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources

H.E. Ms. Audrey Joy Grant (Belize)*

Minister of Energy, Science and Technology and Public Utilities
Developing countries,
Latin America and the Caribbean

H.E. Mr. Sergio Serra (Brazil)*
Consulate General of Brazil in Barcelona
Ministry of External Relations

Mr. Rodrigo Rojo (Chile) 

Deputy Director for International Affairs, 
Ministry of Finance

Mr. Angel Valverde Gallardo (Ecuador)*

Minister of Environment

Mr. Rodrigo Suarez Castano (Colombia)*
Director for Climate Change,
Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development
Mr. David Kaluba (Zambia)
Principal Economist, Ministry of Finance and National Planning
Mr. Mesbah ul Alam (Bangladesh)
Secretary, Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief
Developing countries,
Least developed countries
Mr. Patrick McCaskie (Barbados)
Director, Research and Planning Unit, Economic Affairs Division, Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs
H.E. Mr. Ali’ioaigi Feturi Elisaia (Samoa)
Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Samoa to the United Nations
Developing countries,
Small island developing States
Mr. George Zedginidze (Georgia)
Former Minister, Ministry of Environment Protection

Mr. Irfa Ampri (Indonesia)
Head, Center for Climate Change Financing and Multilateral Policy,
Fiscal Policy Agency, Ministry of Finance

Developing countries
Mr. Ewen McDonald (Australia)
Deputy Secretary,
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Mr. Rod Hilton (Australia)
Assistant Director General, Australian Agency for International Development

Developed countries,
Australia on behalf of Australia and New Zealand

Ms. Irene Jansen (Netherlands)
Head, International Economics and Financial Institutions Division, Foreign Financial Relations Directorate, Ministry of Finance

Developed countries,
Denmark and the Netherlands**

Mr. Arnaud Buisse (France)
Deputy Assistant Secretary,
Multilateral Financial Affairs and Development Division, Directorate-General of the Treasury
Mr. Frederic Glanois (France)
Head of Official Development Assistance and Multilateral Development Institutions
, Directorate-General of the Treasury
Developed countries,

Mr. Manfred Konukiewitz (Germany)
Deputy Director General (retired) Representative of the Government

Mr. Norbert Gorissen (Germany)
Head of Division, International Climate Finance, International Climate Initiative, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU)

Developed countries,

Mr. Kentaro Ogata (Japan)
Director for Development Issues, International Bureau, Ministry of Finance
Mr. Tomonori Nakamura (Japan)
Special Coordinator for Environmental Finance, Development Policy Division, International Bureau, Ministry of Finance
Developed countries,

Mr. Henrik Harboe (Norway)            Director of Development Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Petr J. Kalas (Czech Republic)
Former Minister, Ministry of Environment
Developed countries,
Norway and Czech Republic
Mr. Adam Kirchknopf (Hungary)
Head of Economic Section, Embassy of Hungary in Switzerland
Mr. Marcin Korolec (Poland)
Secreatary of State, Government Plenipotentiary for Climate Policy.
Developed countries,
Hungary and Poland**
Ms. Ana Fornells de Frutos (Spain)
Head, International Climate Division, Ministry of Environment
Ms. Ludovica Soderini (Italy)
International Financial Relations, Treasury Department, Ministry of Economy and Finance
Developed countries,
Spain and Italy**
Mr. Alexey Kvasov (Russian Federation)
Deputy Chief of the Presidential Experts' Directorate, Russian G8 Sherpa, Executive Office of the President

Mr. Anton Hilber (Switzerland)
Head, Global Programme Climate Change, Swiss Agency for Development Cooperation, Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Developed countries,
Russian Federation and Switzerland**
H.E. Mr. Jan Cedergren (Sweden)
Ambassador, Ministry of Environment
Mr. Jozef Buys (Belgium)
Attaché, Directorate General for Development Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Developed countries,
Sweden and Belgium**
Ms. Andrea Ledward (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
Head of DFID's Climate and Environment Department

Mr. David Capper (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

Head of International Climate Policy and Finance at the UK's Department of Energy and Climate Change

Developed countries,
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Mr. Leonardo Martinez (United States of America)
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Environment and Energy, Department of the Treasury

Mr.C. Alexander Severens (United States of America)
Director, Environment and Energy Office,
Department of the Treasury
Developed countries,
United States of America


#   Status as at 2 April 2014.

* The letters of nomination (Asia-Pacific) (Asia-Pacific) (Latin America and the Caribbean) indicate a change in the arrangements during the three-year term of membership.
** The letter of nomination indicated that: “Constituencies will decide at their own discretion on the designation of Member and Alternate Member. Discussions amongst developed country Parties in Geneva on 13 April 2012 showed one outstanding issue regarding whether the European Union may participate on the GCF Board, the resolution of which is still pending consensus of developed country Parties. Accordingly, the list above does not prejudge the outcome of this issue.”
***    The letter of nomination indicated that: “Constituencies will decide at their own discretion on the designation of Member and Alternate Member.